Christmas 2022 – Rules of Golf 2023 Quiz

A Fun Quiz for Christmas 2022 on the Rules of Golf 2023

1. In Match Play, which is incorrect about Rules' issues during the round?

Question 1 of 18

2. In Four-Ball Match Play with side A-B, A holes out. Before B holes out, A practises putting on the fringe of the putting green without helping B's play or hurting the opponent's play. What is the ruling?

Question 2 of 18

3. A player's ball lies in the general area in an area of temporary water that extends onto the putting green. When the player determines the nearest point of complete relief in the general area from interference for their lie, stance and area of intended swing, the puddle of temporary water on the putting green intervenes between this point and the hole. When taking relief without penalty from the temporary water, the player must

Question 3 of 18

4. A player's ball on a par-3 hole, played from the teeing-area across water marked as a Yellow Penalty Area, lies in a bunker behind the putting green. The player makes a stroke from the bunker and the ball comes to rest in the penalty area in front of the putting green. What is the ruling?

Question 4 of 18

5. In stroke play, a player takes lateral relief from a red penalty area. The player properly drops a ball, but it rolls and comes to rest more than two club-lengths from the reference point. The player plays the ball. What is the ruling?

Question 5 of 18

6. In Foursomes play, the player's ball must be dropped by the player who is to make the next stroke, no one else may do so, including the player's partner, even if authorised. True or False?

Question 6 of 18

7. A player is not allowed to use her/his hand to bend a branch obscuring their view of the ball after taking their stance; if they do, and don't return the branch to its original position,  they get the General Penalty.

Question 7 of 18

8. In a handicap match with an assigned starting time but without a referee, the players must:

Question 8 of 18

9. If a player decides their ball, in a bunker, is unplayable, there are two options that require the ball to be dropped in the bunker and only one that allows relief outside the bunker. True or False?

Question 9 of 18

10. Artificial objects defining or showing out of bounds, such as walls, fences, stakes and railings are obstructions. True or False?

Question 10 of 18

11. A player has knowledge or virtual certainty thet her/his ball is in a red penalty area. The player decides to take relief under the lateral relief option of the penalty relief area rule 17.1d(3), speculates where the ball last crossed the edge of the penalty area and drops a ball within two club-lengths from that point. After the ball is dropped, but before the player makes their next stroek, another player says that the original ball last crossed the edge of the penalty area 20 yards closer to the hole than where the ball was dropped. The player finds the original ball in the area where the other player said it would be. What is the ruling?

Question 11 of 18

12. In Stroke Play, during play of a hole, a player puts another ball into play for the original ball that s/he says is cut or cracked. The player's marker disagrees but the player makes a stroke at the new ball. The marker asks the Committee for a ruling before the completion of the hole and the Committee determines that the ball taken out of play was not cut or cracked. What penalty does the player get?

Question 12 of 18

13. In an 18-hole Stableford competition, a player failed to finish a hole and returned a scorecard for only 17 holes s/he had completed, the player must be disqualified. True or False?

Question 13 of 18

14. A player plays a provisional ball from the teeing area that appears to come to rest in the same general location as the original ball. The player discovers the original ball out of bounds and cannot find the provisional ball. What is the ruling?

Question 14 of 18

15. In a Stroke-Play competition , A hits their tee shot into a heavily wooded area. They properly play a provisional ball under Rule 18.3b and it comes to rest in the fairway. They search for the original ball for one minute and then declare it 'lost'. They walk over to their provisional ball and accidentally kick it, then replace it, but before they play it within 3 minutes of starting the search , a spectator finds their original ball. They lift the provisional ball and play the original ball to the green. They take two putts and tee0off on the next hole. What is their score for the hole?

Question 15 of 18

16. During the round, a player may access local weather information, including wind, temperature and humidity, through an application or internet browser on a multi-functional device. True or False?

Question 16 of 18

17. Player A and Player B played into a penalty area at about the same spot in shallow water. At the direction of A, as agreed to by B, A’s caddie recovers both balls and the balls are exchanged by mistake. A and B take relief under the penalty area relief Rule (17.1d) and play out the hole with the balls exchanged. What is the ruling?

Question 17 of 18

18. In Four-Ball stroke play side A-B returns a scorecard with the scores of both A and B individually recorded as four for the 3rd hole. After the scorecard was returned to the Committee, the Committee counted A's score for the side. Then, it was discovered that the score of A was actually five because they had failed to include a penalty stroke that was unknown by the side at the time. What is the ruling?

Question 18 of 18


Accidentally Knocking your Ball off the Tee

Accidentally Knocking Your Ball off the Tee

Most of us have accidentally knocked our ball off the tee when setting up for our drive.

Then, there’s always somebody in your group who shouts’, “One”.

 But is it actually a stroke? Does it count? NO!

Rule 6.1a tells us that we start a hole by making a stroke and a stroke, by definition, is the forward movement of the club with the intent to hit the ball. Knocking the ball off the tee by accident is not an intent to hit the ball, so it doesn’t count as a stroke. You can put the ball back on the tee and hit away with no penalty.

The teeing area is a special part of the golf course. The teeing area is a rectangle with the corners being the front edges of the tee markers and two club lengths backwards.

You can alter the surface, move bend or break grass, remove dew or press down grass or dirt within the teeing area before you start the hole.

If you make a stroke with the intention of hitting your ball, then that stroke counts even if you barely make contact with your ball or even whiff it (air-shot).

If your ball moves outside the teeing area you must play your ball as it lies.

However, should you barely make contact with your ball or even whiff it (air-shot) and your ball stays within the teeing area you have many more options than you had before the 2019 rules changes.

  1. You can play your ball as it lies, pick it up and move it anywhere within that teeing area with no penalty to make your next stroke. (Rule 9.4b).
  2. You can even tee it up again or substitute a new ball!

The new rules have made the teeing area a free for all in many respects and knowing this rule can be used to your advantage.

But when is your ball in the Teeing Area?

Your ball is in the teeing area when any part of your ball touches or is above any part of the teeing area.

See the diagram below:

Image detailing when a ball is in the teeing area
WHEN BALL IS IN TEEING AREA The dotted line defines the outside edges of the teeing area (see Definition of Teeing Area). A ball is in the teeing area when any part of the ball touches or is above part of the teeing area.