Ball Hitting Unattended Flagstick Deflected into Hole

Ball Hitting Unattended Flagstick Deflected into Hole

Another recent question that I was asked.

Q. If my ball on the putting green strikes a Flagstick, that has been removed from the hole and laid down on the putting green, and is deflected into the hole, has my ball been holed?

A. The answer is yes and no penalty incurred, unless the Flagstick had been placed strategically in such a position to deflect your ball or to stop your ball; in that case your ball will not have been considered holed, you would incur the General Penalty of 2-strokes , have to reposition the Flagstick, replace your ball and play your stroke again. (Rule 13.2b(2)).

Enjoy your golf!

Tony

Leave a Reply