A Christmas 2022 Rules Quiz

A Christmas Quiz on the New 2023 Rules of Golf

Try your hand at this Christmas Rules Quiz if you want a few minutes peace and quiet over the Festive Season.

There are 18 questions.

A Fun Quiz for Christmas 2022 on the Rules of Golf 2023

1. In Match Play, which is incorrect about Rules' issues during the round?

Question 1 of 18

2. A player is not allowed to use her/his hand to bend a branch obscuring their view of the ball after taking their stance; if they do, and don't return the branch to its original position,  they get the General Penalty.

Question 2 of 18

3. In Foursomes play, the player's ball must be dropped by the player who is to make the next stroke, no one else may do so, including the player's partner, even if authorised. True or False?

Question 3 of 18

4. A player plays a provisional ball from the teeing area that appears to come to rest in the same general location as the original ball. The player discovers the original ball out of bounds and cannot find the provisional ball. What is the ruling?

Question 4 of 18

5. In Stroke Play, during play of a hole, a player puts another ball into play for the original ball that s/he says is cut or cracked. The player's marker disagrees but the player makes a stroke at the new ball. The marker asks the Committee for a ruling before the completion of the hole and the Committee determines that the ball taken out of play was not cut or cracked. What penalty does the player get?

Question 5 of 18

6. If a player decides their ball, in a bunker, is unplayable, there are two options that require the ball to be dropped in the bunker and only one that allows relief outside the bunker. True or False?

Question 6 of 18

7. In a Stroke-Play competition , A hits their tee shot into a heavily wooded area. They properly play a provisional ball under Rule 18.3b and it comes to rest in the fairway. They search for the original ball for one minute and then declare it 'lost'. They walk over to their provisional ball and accidentally kick it, then replace it, but before they play it within 3 minutes of starting the search , a spectator finds their original ball. They lift the provisional ball and play the original ball to the green. They take two putts and tee0off on the next hole. What is their score for the hole?

Question 7 of 18

8. In Four-Ball Match Play with side A-B, A holes out. Before B holes out, A practises putting on the fringe of the putting green without helping B's play or hurting the opponent's play. What is the ruling?

Question 8 of 18

9. In an 18-hole Stableford competition, a player failed to finish a hole and returned a scorecard for only 17 holes s/he had completed, the player must be disqualified. True or False?

Question 9 of 18

10. Player A and Player B played into a penalty area at about the same spot in shallow water. At the direction of A, as agreed to by B, A’s caddie recovers both balls and the balls are exchanged by mistake. A and B take relief under the penalty area relief Rule (17.1d) and play out the hole with the balls exchanged. What is the ruling?

Question 10 of 18

11. In a handicap match with an assigned starting time but without a referee, the players must:

Question 11 of 18

12. A player has knowledge or virtual certainty thet her/his ball is in a red penalty area. The player decides to take relief under the lateral relief option of the penalty relief area rule 17.1d(3), speculates where the ball last crossed the edge of the penalty area and drops a ball within two club-lengths from that point. After the ball is dropped, but before the player makes their next stroek, another player says that the original ball last crossed the edge of the penalty area 20 yards closer to the hole than where the ball was dropped. The player finds the original ball in the area where the other player said it would be. What is the ruling?

Question 12 of 18

13. In Four-Ball stroke play side A-B returns a scorecard with the scores of both A and B individually recorded as four for the 3rd hole. After the scorecard was returned to the Committee, the Committee counted A's score for the side. Then, it was discovered that the score of A was actually five because they had failed to include a penalty stroke that was unknown by the side at the time. What is the ruling?

Question 13 of 18

14. A player's ball lies in the general area in an area of temporary water that extends onto the putting green. When the player determines the nearest point of complete relief in the general area from interference for their lie, stance and area of intended swing, the puddle of temporary water on the putting green intervenes between this point and the hole. When taking relief without penalty from the temporary water, the player must

Question 14 of 18

15. Artificial objects defining or showing out of bounds, such as walls, fences, stakes and railings are obstructions. True or False?

Question 15 of 18

16. In stroke play, a player takes lateral relief from a red penalty area. The player properly drops a ball, but it rolls and comes to rest more than two club-lengths from the reference point. The player plays the ball. What is the ruling?

Question 16 of 18

17. During the round, a player may access local weather information, including wind, temperature and humidity, through an application or internet browser on a multi-functional device. True or False?

Question 17 of 18

18. A player's ball on a par-3 hole, played from the teeing-area across water marked as a Yellow Penalty Area, lies in a bunker behind the putting green. The player makes a stroke from the bunker and the ball comes to rest in the penalty area in front of the putting green. What is the ruling?

Question 18 of 18


 

Wishing you a very Merry Christmas

3 Replies to “A Christmas 2022 Rules Quiz”

  1. Thanks for the Quiz Tony. Very enjoyable. But I am not sure about the answer to Question 13. I don’t think player A should be penalised as he is taking a practice putt after completing play of the hole, even though his partner has not completed play of the hole. Exception to 5.5b. Particularly as there was no helping or hurting.
    Interesting to note the change of wording of the 5.5b title from ‘between two holes’ to ‘ after completing hole’ in the 2023 Rules.
    Maybe the new wording ‘after completing hole’ means after the side has completed the hole not the player? But not clear.
    All the best.

    1. Hi, David. Thanks for your comment.

      In Match Play a hole is completed only when both players have holed out or had the hole conceded.
      The relevant Rules reference is:
      Rule 23.3c When Hole Is Completed
      (1) Match Play. A side has completed a hole when:
      Both partners have holed out or had their next strokes conceded,
      One partner has holed out or had their next stroke conceded and the other partner either chooses not to hole out or has a score that cannot count for the side, or
      The result of the hole is decided (such as when the other side’s score for the hole is lower than the side could possibly make).

      I have added this Rules reference to the explanation of the correct answer

      Thanks for pointing this omission out to me.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *